real hardware problem

If you are new to OS Development, plan on spending some time here first before going into the other forums.

Moderator: Moderators

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

real hardware problem

Post by gzaloprgm » Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:46 pm

Hello, I read the last stage 2 tutorial, then I downloaded the last source, http://www.brokenthorn.com/Resources/Demos/Demo4.zip, when I try it on qemu and bochs it works perfectly, but when I run it from a floppy in real hardware, after getting to the 2nd stage the computer resets. Is there any thing I should do so it can work in a real device?

Update: when I try the Demo3.zip it works perfectly. I guess something is preventing the code to access the floppy drive.

thanks
gonzalo

User avatar
Mike
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike » Sat Jan 19, 2008 2:30 am

Hello,

Try to isolate the problem using CLI and HLT instructions and running it on the machine to see how far it gets into stage 2. This will give us a better idea where and why it crashes.
Lead Programmer for BrokenThorn Entertainment, Co.
Website: http://www.brokenthorn.com
Email: webmaster@brokenthorn.com

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

Post by gzaloprgm » Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:11 am

Thanks Mike, I put the cli&hlt prior the jump to the kernel(jmp 0x8:0x100000) and it didn't reset!

Then I removed them and put them in stage3.asm, just before the "jmp Stage3" instruction.

It reseted, so I'm sure the processor executed garbage instructions and made a triple fault and didn't load the 3rd stage.

Any ideas of what is my bios or pc doing wrong?

BTW, your tutorials are great! Keep doing them!

Thanks,
Gonzalo

User avatar
Mike
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike » Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:30 am

gzaloprgm wrote:I'm sure the processor executed garbage instructions and made a triple fault and didn't load the 3rd stage.
That seems to be the problem.
gzaloprgm wrote: Any ideas of what is my bios or pc doing wrong?
Hm... I dont have a solution at the moment. I am going to look into it and see if I can find anything.
gzaloprgm wrote: BTW, your tutorials are great! Keep doing them!
Thanks :) Im currently working on the code for the next tutorials, and final code structure for the system core.
Lead Programmer for BrokenThorn Entertainment, Co.
Website: http://www.brokenthorn.com
Email: webmaster@brokenthorn.com

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

Post by gzaloprgm » Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:32 am

Ok, thanks. The weird thing is that the 2nd stage was loaded correctly. I don't know why the 3rd isn't loaded in my pc.

User avatar
Mike
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike » Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:47 am

Can you please try it on a different computer to see what happens?
Lead Programmer for BrokenThorn Entertainment, Co.
Website: http://www.brokenthorn.com
Email: webmaster@brokenthorn.com

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

Post by gzaloprgm » Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:19 pm

Yes, today I tried with this pc and it worked, so I guess I'll have to do all tests in this computer :(

If anyone had the same problem I would like to know how did you solve it.

Processor: Intel Pentium MMX 233mhz
Ram: 64MiB
Bios: Award Modular Bios PCI/PNP 586 4.51PG
Floppy Drive: NEC FD1231H
Chipset: 08/14/97-vXPro+-USB-Ultr-2A5ldh09c-00

Thanks,
Gonzalo
Last edited by gzaloprgm on Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

Post by gzaloprgm » Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:38 am

Whoops, my floppy drive broke and the top head was missaligned, so only one face was loaded :oops: .

In monday I'll buy a new one, I hope it works with your code.

User avatar
Mike
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike » Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:13 am

gzaloprgm wrote:Whoops, my floppy drive broke and the top head was missaligned, so only one face was loaded.
This was with the computer that it failed to work on?

I just want to make sure that you have found the problem so we can fix this.
Lead Programmer for BrokenThorn Entertainment, Co.
Website: http://www.brokenthorn.com
Email: webmaster@brokenthorn.com

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

Post by gzaloprgm » Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:35 am

I dont know, I don't have another floppy, so i'll have to wait until tomorrow to buy a new one.

I don't think your code is buggy on my testbed pc, I just think that something was wrong with my floppy drive, tomorrow I'll say if it works or not with that pc.

User avatar
Mike
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:59 pm

Let us know how if the new floppy works :)
Lead Programmer for BrokenThorn Entertainment, Co.
Website: http://www.brokenthorn.com
Email: webmaster@brokenthorn.com

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

Post by gzaloprgm » Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:20 pm

Hi, today I bought a new floppy drive and the same thing happens.

My old pc resets after jumping to 0x8:0x100000 :(

It's not a floppy problem because when I try it on bochs or on qemu using a: as image it works perfectly :?
I just want to make sure that you have found the problem so we can fix this.
Yes, there is a problem.

User avatar
Mike
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:13 pm

gzaloprgm wrote:Hi, today I bought a new floppy drive and the same thing happens.

My old pc resets after jumping to 0x8:0x100000 :(

It's not a floppy problem because when I try it on bochs or on qemu using a: as image it works perfectly :?
I just want to make sure that you have found the problem so we can fix this.
Yes, there is a problem.
Hm...

Can you please post or PM me the computers' complete system specs? I can then find out what may be causing the problem.
Lead Programmer for BrokenThorn Entertainment, Co.
Website: http://www.brokenthorn.com
Email: webmaster@brokenthorn.com

gzaloprgm
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:42 pm

Post by gzaloprgm » Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:23 am

Mike wrote:
gzaloprgm wrote:Hi, today I bought a new floppy drive and the same thing happens.

My old pc resets after jumping to 0x8:0x100000 :(

It's not a floppy problem because when I try it on bochs or on qemu using a: as image it works perfectly :?
I just want to make sure that you have found the problem so we can fix this.
Yes, there is a problem.
Hm...

Can you please post or PM me the computers' complete system specs? I can then find out what may be causing the problem.
The Specifications are the following:

Processor: Intel Pentium MMX 233mhz (Socket7)
Ram: 64MiB (SIMM 4 x 16MB / DIMM 2 x 16MB)
Bios: Award Modular Bios Version 4.51PG
BiosChip: Award Bios PCI/PNP 586
New Floppy Drive: Sony MPF920
Motherboard Model: 08/14/97-vXPro+-USB-Ultr-2A5ldh09c-00
Chipset: VXPro PC82C437VX
Video: S3 Virge OnBoard N1D38D
Lan: Sis 900
Base memory: 640KB
Extended memory: 64512KB
Other: 384KB

User avatar
Mike
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:59 pm

Hey,

We will be looking at possible compatibility problems between the software and your system specs. We will let you know what we find.

Until then, your current PC and emulator should be fine, I hope.
Lead Programmer for BrokenThorn Entertainment, Co.
Website: http://www.brokenthorn.com
Email: webmaster@brokenthorn.com

Post Reply